Upcycled fiber sewing project

necktie side of tote

necktie side of tote

 

rayon scarf fabric side of tote

rayon scarf fabric side of tote

I inherited a box of mens neckties from my dad and uncle. The first thing I did was admire them because some of them were really lovely. The next step was to decide how to upcycle the neckties. I first thought about making a purse or tote bag. I’d seen clutch style purses made with mens neckties, but I didn’t want to copy that necessarily, hence the tote idea. After that, I grouped the ties according to color group or coordinating color and pattern.

I left the grouped neckties alone for awhile and waited for the recycle and reuse muse to hit me. One day, the muse hit as I went through my pile of fabric and noticed a lovely, rayon ladies scarf in amongst the pile of recycled sewing materials. The colors in the scarf reminded me of one of the groups of mens neckties, so off I went.

I planned, ironed, measured and cut the ties first. Then it was on to pinning and sewing. One side done, the second was even easier. Then came the new linen lining and the reused necktie handles. Three neckties and a scarf upcycled and tote bag created!

2 thoughts on “Upcycled fiber sewing project

  1. Pingback: Upcycled fiber sewing project | Fiber Artistry

  2. Pingback: Upcycled fiber sewing project | Fiber Artistry

Leave a Reply

